Best way to run local Dgraph executable in Docker

Hi!

I’m new to Go, Dgraph, and Docker, so this may be a bit of a silly question (I apologize in advance).

I created a PR to add a whitelist feature on admin/export (Added IP whitelist for admin/export by armcburney · Pull Request #2233 · dgraph-io/dgraph · GitHub) from an issue created recently on GitHub (IP range whitelist for admin/export · Issue #1924 · dgraph-io/dgraph · GitHub).

I’m not certain what the best way to test this feature is. Pawan suggested that Docker would be a good approach, but I’m not sure what it would entail testing this in Docker using my local executable.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Again, I apologize if this is a silly question.

All the best,

Andrew

There is a script at contrib/nightly/build.sh. When you run that, it builds the binary and embeds it in a docker image with tag master. Then you can use it to run dgraph by following the instructions at https://tour.dgraph.io/intro/2/. The only difference being that you would use the master tag. Also, you don’t need to pull the image, as you already have it locally.

So first instruction becomes

docker run -it -p 5080:5080 -p 6080:6080 -p 8080:8080 -p 9080:9080 -p 8000:8000 -v ~/dgraph:/dgraph dgraph/dgraph:master dgraph zero
docker exec -it dgraph dgraph server --memory_mb 2048 --zero localhost:5080

Now if you try to run export from outside the Docker container running zero and server (i.e. from your host machine), you should get an error.

Hi Pawan,

I tried to run the contrib/nightly/build.sh, but ran into the problem:

./contrib/nightly/build.sh: line 61: pushd: /Users/andrew.mcburney/go/src/github.com/dgraph-io/ratel: No such file or
 directory 

I searched for github.com/dgraph-io/ratel, but was unable to find the repository on the dgraph organization. Is it a private repository?

All the best,
Andrew