Quitting Dgraph Labs

Hey guys,

As of yesterday Jan 27, 2022, I have quit Dgraph Labs as the CEO, and the board seat I hold as majority common stockholder. The core Dgraph team have also submitted their resignation letters.

June 2021, in a rug pull event, we were told by the board to shut down the company. To avoid that, we did layoffs to conserve cash, prove revenue and raise from external investors. But, our raise was tainted by the events from June, and we couldn’t.

Last week, I requested Dgraph preferred stockholders to fully open-source the codebase and let us transition cloud customers over to that — in line with their recommendation from last year. But, that proposal was rejected.

They are now contemplating a few purchase offers. I have no control or say over this process. There’s a lot of politics. I’m a builder, not a politician and I see no point in staying on.

We have put our blood, sweat, and tears into building this software over the last 6 years. I have personally worked on solving this problem for the past decade. Building software that is a unique mix of Spanner, Search, Graph, and GraphQL is very hard and Dgraph contributors have spent countless hours sitting alone in closed rooms building this software.

Unfortunately, Dgraph was always undervalued by investors. Since the beginning, we found ourselves doing this extremely hard feat of building a graph Spanner on a shoestring budget. And last year, it fully dried up.

Despite all that, we strongly believe this software has incredible potential. And the true capabilities of Dgraph have not even been explored.

I’m fully committed to continuing my decade-long work on building this incredible graph system. The team and I plan on forking the Apache 2.0 licensed parts of Dgraph and building upon it.