Creating Schema and loading data

Hi All,

I am new to dgraph and don’t have experience in graphQL. Facing problems in creating schema and loading data using the bulk loader.
The schema required is as follows:

Nodes:
label: material
properties: name(string),type(string),number(float/int)
count: approx 2 million

Relationship:
label: parent (material->parent->material) directed
properties: rel_name(string),quantity(int/float)
count: 3 million

I also tried, installing dgraph on local system using docker, and source build. But the port 8080 is not accessing from dgraph-ratel.

Request you to share the schema and data loading steps with syntax.

Happy Weekend

Thanks & Regards,
Vinayak

Can you share details of what you have tried?

This depends of some context. Have you exposed the port? are you using a native installation of Docker or Docker in VM? If VM you have to use the IP of the VM.

Your intention is to use GraphQL? You should take a time to learn GraphQL first. There are a ton of tutorials and courses related. Dgraph is covered by all of them. But with extra notations/directives.

There’s no Bulkloader for GraphQL, I mean, you can bulkload an existing Dgraph dataset that came from a GraphQL setup (created on Dgraph only). But Bulkload is Dgraph exclusive, so you have to build the dataset with its structure to be able to use it. No dataset out there is compatible with it.

One suggested model might be:

type Material {
  id: ID!
  name: String
  type: String
  number: Float
  children: [MaterialProgeny]
  parents: [MaterialProgeny]
}

type MaterialProgeny {
  parent: Material @hasInverse(field: "children")
  child: Material @hasInverse(field: "parents")
  rel_name: String
  quantity: Float
}

And RDF for bulk insert would look something like:

_:foo <dgraph.type> "Material" .
_:foo <Material.name> "Foo" .
_:foo <Material.type> "typeA" .
_:foo <Material.number> "123" .
_:foo <Material.children> _:foo_bar .
_:foo_bar <MaterialProgeny.parent> :_foo .