DGraph in healthcare

We wanted to use DGraph for building health knowledge graph.
We expect billions of nodes and edges

• The DGraph examples I have see so far (official documentation) refer to 2 and 6 node configuration, is there a limit to cluster size, can this be a 25 code cluster?

• We wanted to deploy DGraph in AKS with NVMe SSD disk ( Lsv2-series), any issues here?

Thanks

3 Likes

I haven’t heard of any cluster size max limits.

Really glad to see someone wanting to take Dgraph into the healthcare sector!! I work in healthcare full time right now. And wish we could have Dgraph to remove much of the siloed data complexity. Also the possibilities for a recommendation engine is really high with a graph db.

3 Likes

@amaster507 thanks for the replay.

• What is you deployment story, are you using DGraph helm chants?
  • How big is your data?
  • How many shards?

Any info is very help full.

I am not using Dgraph for healthcare at the moment. The hospital where I work is all about on-premise tech and I have only been there a little over 3 months, so not ready yet to push for Dgraph, plus it does not yet claim the security that is needed for ePHI. It is working towards this though. IMHO compliance is more about how it is implemented than the actual service itself, but there are a lot of items to check of to ensure compliance however you go about it.

I am using Dgraph right now for MissionBase (not publicly available yet). I gave a talk about it on the last Dgraph Day

(Not my finest picture, lol)

My data is only at 0.21Gb per my Cloud dashboard which is kind of crazy for how much data is actually there. I have ~1,140 predicates spread across 140 types.