Do I need types in a schema and dgraph.type & UIDs in a mutation?

I’m brand new to DGraph, so excuse the basic question.

From what I’ve read in the documentation, I need to specify a schema with types. When mutating data, the docs all have uid and dgraph.type in the data.

However, I have a schema with only a searchable index defined (no types) and when I mutate data, I don’t specify uid or dgraph.type. Still, I can query on the defined index and get data back. So my question is: Do I need types in the schema and UIDs and dgraph.type in a mutation; if so, when?

Example schema:

workflowInstanceId: string @index(exact) .

Example mutation data:

{
    "workflowInstanceId": "2251799813688223",
    "bsi": [
        {"BSISampleID": "CSS000113"}
    ]
}

Query (which correctly returns the mutation data, above):

{
    metadataForWorkflowInstanceId(func: eq(workflowInstanceId, "2251799813685723")) {
        workflowInstanceId
        bsi {
            BSISampleID
        }
    }
}
1 Like

Hi

So what you have calls a predicate.
In dgraph types are constructed from several predicats and each predicate can be in different types*
Assuming you use DQL (which is what you actually do) you don’t have to have types in your scheme in order to start working with dgraph.
about uids they are related to each node and generated automatically. You don’t have to specify them when inserting new data unless you connect between two nodes

*if you have predicate with a search index you can use it in several types but if currently if you want two types to have different indices you need 2 different predicates.

Hope that helps and let me know if you have more questions

3 Likes

In addition