Geo location

What I want to do

I am new to Dgraph. I am using GraphQL api. I have a type Trait node that I want to be able to have either a point or polygon predicate (indexed for searches/filters). This trait is related to a Brand, so should these coordinates. I am confused as to whether Point and Polygon are scalar types (as I used in the below schema) or are node types that have to be predefined as per

(why are there no ID’s defined?)

Q. If I have to predefine the nodes as per link above, how do I make sure that specific points/poly/multipolygon’s are separated by Brand, ie: 2 brands could have the same point but they are unrelated. Moreover, in a near search only brand specific points are searched. In this database there could be 1000 different brands all with their own geo locations.

What I did

type Trait{
id: ID!
brand: Brand! @hasInverse(field: traits)
name: String! @search(by: [regexp])
geo_location: Boolean
location_point: Point @search
location_polygon: Polygon @search
order: Int # what listing order 1 = 1st
}

Dgraph metadata

using dgraph cloud

Thanks for the help!

Geolocation types are scalar in the sense that your location_point could be duplicated for many Trait objects (not referenced)… in the same way and integer or a string could be duplicated in the graph. In other words, there is no unique identifier associated with a Point or Polygon.

2 things:

1. Just to confirm: Point is not scalar by itself, ie: I would need to have already defined

type Point {
longitude: Float!
latitude: Float!
}
2. Can I add any other predicates, relationships to type Point and it still work/function as Geo?
eg.
type Point {
longitude: Float!
latitude: Float!
brand: Brand! @hasInverse (field:geo_point)
}
3. If #2 is not possible how do I maintain separate Points per Brand? Can I do a search with filter on Trait by brand so only those brand trait points are used for a near search?