Graphql - I can not get fragments to work

I am new to Graphql so I dont know if it is on the server side og client side when this happen - I can not get fragments to work:

fragment NameParts on Author{
  id
}

query getAuthor{
  getAuthor(id: "0x36"){
    ...NameParts
  }
}

@JCzz Fragments are currently not supported. It’s still early days for the GraphQL API for Dgraph, so that query should work eventually. But for now you can specify the fields within the query block itself without fragments.

Thanks, quick question - Just want to make sure, is “input objects” also not yet implemented?

input AuthorAndComment {
  author: Author
}

“enum, interface, scalar, implements” work fine. The input I think is auto-generated by Dgraph layer. Due to some dealing with the DB. I’m not sure if you can use, but it is supported.

1 Like

@JCzz That’s right, inputs are auto generated from your types - so for each type you get auto generated input objects, filters for search, queries and mutations.

You can’t add your own input objects.

2 Likes

@michaelcompton
@MichelDiz
Thanks guys

Respect dgraph is still in early days regarding graphql - and there is also a good chance that I am missing something, still new(operative) to dgraph and also new to graphql.

"Author" with “Comments” in one post
That said; what if I wanted to add/delete an “Author” with “Comments” in one post(Author from example graphql.dgraph.io). This is where I found that “input object” can be used, how would you do it - or if at all possible using graphql, now that “input objects” is nicely auto generated for you?

Just for reference - here I have the schema and last “AuthorAndComment” as input object:

type Author {
  id: ID!
  name: String! @search(by: [hash])
}

interface Post {
  id: ID!
  text: String @search(by: [fulltext])
  datePublished: DateTime @search
  author: Author! @hasInverse(field: posts)
}

type Question implements Post {
  answers: [Answer]
}

type Answer implements Post {