Guidance on schema (ordered list of edges)

HI,

I am pretty new to DGraph and graph database in general so I may be overthinking my problem… or not.
From the tutorial material I can not seem to find how to schematize an “ordered list of edges”.

Eg. A chat conversation using only emoticons. This is what I have:

user_id: string @index(term) .
chat_id: string @index(term) .
emoticon_id: string @index(term) .

author_0: uid .
author_1: uid .

msg_0: uid .
msg_1: uid .
msg_2: uid .
msg_3: uid .

mutate

{
  set {
    _:user0 <user_id> "alice" .
    _:user1 <user_id> "bob" .

_:chat0 <chat_id> "good moring!" .

_:emo0 <emoticon_id> ":smile:" .
    _:emo1 <emoticon_id> ":sad:" .
    _:emo2 <emoticon_id> ":mad:" .
    _:emo3 <emoticon_id> ":cool:" .

_:user0 <author_0> _:chat0 .
    _:user1 <author_1> _:chat0 .

_:chat0 <msg_0> _:emo2 .
    _:chat0 <msg_1> _:emo3 .
    _:chat0 <msg_2> _:emo0 .
    _:chat0 <msg_3> _:emo1 .
  }
}
  1. Can I get rid of author_0 and author_1 and keep the order, eg. to map the proper author with msg_x (let assume the business logic enforces alternate posting of messages)? Same thing for msg_0, …, msg_x.

It may be trivial but I don’t see it.

Thx!

Listening at 11:30 in:

A distributed graph database written in Go - GopherCon SG 2017

I think I just need to add timestamps and I should be good to preserve order.

I think your approach is a little wrong. You will create multiple predicates. that way pollutes your scheme completely. Imagine the moment you are pulling your schema. It will come thousands of predicates.