Querying graph structure at a certain point in time

Hello, I’m trying to use facets to query the structure of the graph at a certain point in time.

I have a schema like so:

type Node {
	name
	parent
}

parent: [uid] @reverse .

The parent of a node can change over time, so I’m inserting a new edge to that array with a facet named date of type dateTime. I’d like to be able to query the structure at a certain point in time by filtering any date facets less than the given date and just taking the latest parent as the desired result.

I see that I can use @facets(lt(date, <some date>)) on the parent edge. So that gets me half way there. But how do I just then take the latest edge in a single query?

I’m somewhat new to GQL and having a bit of a hard time expressing this in a single query. Is it possible to do this in a single query? If so could anyone explain how or provide some documentation I can look through?

I’ve just tried this query:

{
  node(func: uid(0x6)) @recurse {
    uid
    name
    ~parent @facets(orderdesc: date) @facets(max(date) AND lt(date,"2020-09-14T11:15:22.938Z"))
  }
}

But I get this error:

One argument expected in max, but got 0

I’ve just found that I can do @facets(orderdesc: date, first: 1) which I think solves the second half of my problem

1 Like

Now that I’ve tried this on a large dataset it doesn’t seem to work as I expected. The first: 1 on the facet doesn’t return the most recent reverse edge and ignore the others.

What I’m trying to get to is where parents can be changed over time, only return the child where the most recent parent relationship is, while keeping the others so I can go back and forward in time.

I’ve gotten to this point with the query, but can’t seem to get the part about only returning the most recent edge. The first: 1 doesn’t seem to do this. Instead I can still see the previous edges pointing to it.

query Structure($id: string, $date: string)
{
  structure(func: eq(name, $id)) @recurse {
    name