Rpc error: code = Unknown desc = Input for predicate author of type uid is scalar

Hello, I’m still very new to Dgraph, so I might be doing something completely wrong…

Basically I have the following schema:

board: uid @reverse .
title: string @index(term, fulltext) .
description: string .
author: uid @reverse .
username: string @index(exact) .

With a User and a Board struct:

type User struct {
	Uid      string `json:"uid,omitempty"`
	Username string `json:"username,omitempty"`
}

type Board struct {
	Uid         string `json:"uid,omitempty"`
	Title       string `json:"title,omitempty"`
	Description string `json:"description,omitempty"`
	Author      string `json:"author,omitempty"`
}

I then create a user like this:

var userForm struct {
        Username string `json:"username"`
}
// unmarshal json from http.Request to userForm
resp, err := database.DgraphMutateSetJson(userForm)
if err != nil {
	fmt.Println(err)
}

This works, and from resp.Uids["blank-0"] I get whatever uid was generated, e.g. 0x4.

The problem now is that I want to associate this author uid with whatever Board I create, e.g.:

var boardForm struct {
		Title       string `json:"title"`
		Description string `json:"description"`
		Author      string `json:"author"`
}
// unmarshal json from http.Request to boardForm
resp, err := database.DgraphMutateSetJson(boardForm)
if err != nil {
	fmt.Println(err)
}

However, this results in the error in the title (rpc error: code = Unknown desc = Input for predicate author of type uid is scalar).

My POST request (that is unmarshalled to boardForm) include the following JSON:

{
	"title":"My Title",
	"description":"My Description",
	"author":"0x4"
}

I’d greatly appreciate help about what I’m doing wrong (regarding the error), as well as tips about how I can improve my schema in order to associate a Board with a User, and a Post with a Board + a User, etc.

Hi, so warning here. I have zero skill with Golang. xD