Spark Connector for dgraph

Hi team,

I have a use case where I need to run graph algorithms on the graphs stored in dgraph. I’m using Spark and Scala for graph processing and would like to have a spark connector for dgraph, which loads the graph from dgraph to spark.

Is there any such connector already available?
If not, I would like to help in creating one. Help me get started.

Thanks,
Eshwar

1 Like

Hi Eshwar,

We currently do not have a spark connector available. We do have a Java client GitHub - dgraph-io/dgraph4j: Official Dgraph Java client which could become the base of the Spark Connector. I have some experience in building spark connectors, let me know if you need any help.

I would consider looking at Spark DataSource V2 APIs which are pretty well designed and then go from there.

Thanks

Hi @amanmangal,

Thanks for the reply. I am using graphx of spark and would like to create graph from RDDs of vertices and edges. (using graph.apply method)

https://spark.apache.org/docs/latest/api/scala/index.html#org.apache.spark.graphx.Graph%24@apply

So what is the best way to get all the data from dgraph to that format?

Thanks

If this is a one time activity, you can convert the data into json format using Spark. Once you have json data, you can run the Dgraph bulk loader and very quickly have Dgraph up and running. You can skip writing the Spark connector for Dgraph. How much data do you have right now?

Its not a one time activity.
And I need to do it 2 way. I mean load from dgraph to spark and write back to dgraph from spark.

Also, I’m running into dependency errors after including the dgraph4j dependency in my project.

SLF4J: Class path contains multiple SLF4J bindings.
SLF4J: Found binding in [jar:file:/tmp/sbt_dedcb9ab/target/54c6dd23/slf4j-log4j12-1.7.16.jar!/org/slf4j/impl/StaticLoggerBinder.class]
SLF4J: Found binding in [jar:file:/tmp/sbt_dedcb9ab/target/be4b3c56/slf4j-simple-1.7.21.jar!/org/slf4j/impl/StaticLoggerBinder.class]