Crash replicas and recover

Hello.
I’m new in Dgraph
I use Dgraph v1.0.7-rc4 release fo Windows10

for experiments i make 1 instance Dgraph Zero and 2 Dgraph server replicas

dgraph zero --my=localhost:5080 --replicas 3 -w zeroCluster

dgraph server --my=localhost:7080 --lru_mb=3512 --zero=localhost:5080 -o 0 -p server0/p -w server0/w
dgraph server --my=localhost:7081 --lru_mb=3512 --zero=localhost:5080 -o 1 -p server1/p -w server1/w
dgraph server --my=localhost:7082 --lru_mb=3512 --zero=localhost:5080 -o 2 -p server2/p -w server2/w

If I destroy instance of replicas for 2 dgraph servers(ctrl+c many time or shutdown terminal), for example localhost:7081 and localhost:7080 I can’t get access to data and localhost:7082 show errors.
How can I correct this situation, recover data and cluster schema?

@MichelDiz can help more, but you must have 2 out of 3 replicas up and running for data application and retrieval. Dgraph does consistent replication via Raft, which enforces this stipulation.

1 Like

Vladimir, Can you paste here the logs you get?

What is the content of your experiment? Did you use LIVE or Bulk? or manually entered data via mutation?

How long did it take between you to load the data and run the shutdown? (just to know if the servers have had time to sync) did you see logs like “moving predicate A”? and waited it to finish?

When you force a shutdown or there is a sudden shutdown. The Dgraph leaves a Lock in the folders that were being used. Before use it is necessary to remove them.

After recovering the server instances did you get errors? paste logs pls.

Cheers.

1 Like

Can you help me, how I can get logs when I start dgraph server on Windows 10?

I use mutation from tour:
https://tour.dgraph.io/intro/3/
https://tour.dgraph.io/intro/4/
https://tour.dgraph.io/intro/5/

When I destroy the first replica. It’s ok. Then a new leader is chosen.
It’s two replicas on. If I destroyed leader. I got mistakes.
But if leader on last server, it’s ok too.