Recommended way of generating triples in the W3C standard RDF N-Quad format - with variables

Hello everyone.

The polite context to my question is at the bottom of this post but I’d like to value peoples time and put my question first.

I’ve never worked with triples, or the RDF N-Quad format. I’ve been writing Go on and off for about 3 years and only just decided to go all in on it for my backend services and I’m now using dgo. This question is in that context.

Question:
What are the best practices for generating the string literals for both the JSON and triples for queries and mutations?

The thoughts I have:

1.) I’ve gone through the docs extensively and had no problem with mutations and queries with JSON and the default marshalling libraries until I came across doing conditional upserts as described in the dgo readme (example included for clarity):

query = `
  query {
      user as var(func: eq(email, "wrong_email@dgraph.io"))
  }`
mu := &api.Mutation{
  Cond: `@if(eq(len(user), 1))`, // Only mutate if "wrong_email@dgraph.io" belongs to single user.
  SetNquads: []byte(`uid(user) <email> "correct_email@dgraph.io" .`),
}
req := &api.Request{
  Query: query,
  Mutations: []*api.Mutation{mu},
  CommitNow:true,
}

// Update email only if exactly one matching uid is found.
if _, err := dg.NewTxn().Do(ctx, req); err != nil {
  log.Fatal(err)
}

This was fine as it is but my problems started with the fact there was only an example with setNquads and I wasnt sure how to include the uid(your_var) in JSON based on the result of the query portion of the upsert. Is there a way to do this and can someone please show me an example? In the meantime I decided to use n-Quads instead which lead me to my next question. (I actually prefer n-Quads I think. So I’d love to know the answer to the next one).

3.) How do I do variable subsitution for triples? Is there a good/bad way to do it like with SQL queries to avoid injections etc?