Alex Moon - Serverless Web Apps with Gatsby + Dgraph + TinaCMS

About Alex

Hello! I am Alex Moon – I’m currently a Software Engineer @ Gatsby working to build better data integrations. My career has spanned a help desk, systems administration, and software development. When I am not working I can usually be found hiking, contributing to Open Source, or wishing I was sailing.

Serverless Web Apps with Gatsby + Dgraph + TinaCMS

More and more folks are looking to build highly dynamic web apps that deploy via static assets to a CDN. Gatsby has been a leader in this space and has a great story around sourcing data from a wide variety of CMSes. That same story hasn’t been true when looking to source data from a database. Existing solutions have generally been highly custom and complex or all together sub-par.

The good news is this is changing, Gatsby has recently released to beta its GraphQL source toolkit that uses schema queries to integrate any GraphQL source quickly and easily into Gatsby’s data layer. This is already driving new CMS integrations such as CraftCMS and GraphCMS. With Dgraph now shipping full GraphQL compatibility we have the ability to much more simply integrate our Gatsby frontend with a world-class database.

Join us to learn more about building highly scalable web apps deployed at the edge using Gatsby, Dgraph, and TinaCMS.

Have questions for Alex? Submit them below.

Alex would love to answer them!

Haven’t signed up for the free conference yet?

Grab your free tickets here: https://graphqlcon.space

Follow Alex

GitHub: moonmeister (Alex Moon) · GitHub

Twitter: https://twitter.com/moon_meister

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/aj-moon/

Resources

Demo Code Repo: GitHub - moonmeister/gatsby-example-dgraph: Example of using Gatsby with Dgraph's Slash and TinaCMS. http://moviedatabase.moonmeister.net
Demo Site: http://moviedatabase.moonmeister.net/
Tools Used:

Further Reading:

1 Like