Getting Things Done

@ashwin95r became the first person in the team to receive a free Kindle book y’day. Congrats! He got this:

I’ve been using these techniques since 2005 – but recently revamped my system to make it paper (card) based. The physicality of tasks makes a big difference IMO. I’ll do a bigger write up to explain how I use this system.

I highly recommend people to get this book :slight_smile: and discuss here – need any ideas for implementation, how do you use it, etc.

I am going to pick this up next after finishing HItchhikers Guide to Galaxy.

1 Like

Thank you @mrjn! :slight_smile: Started reading it and the main focus of the book seems to be on how to stay relaxed, more happy and focused on one task without trying to mentally remember all your responsibilities. Eager to learn what the rest of the book has to say

1 Like

Awesome!

So, as promised, this is my set up. Here’s a picture of my desk right now:

I basically went to Office Works here in Sydney, and picked up a bunch of cards, and small and large clips.

Whenever something comes to my mind, or I’m talking to you guys and I need to track something, I write one task / idea on one card. And stick that in Inbox. Later, I can move that card to one of the other categories, categories being:

• DGraph (Project, most used)
  • @ Computer (second most used)
  • @ Outside
  • @ Home (less used)
  • @ Office (less used)
  • @ Done
  • @ Waiting For
  • @ Today
  • Agendas (things to follow up on with others)
    • Prashanth
    • Ashwin
    • Pawan
    • Other people based on who I’m talking to

I wrote each of these categories on a card, and then just clipped all the cards belonging to that category behind it using small clips. When I’m working, I remove the clips, so I can easily move the cards around.