How to use Dgraph in an iOS App

I am new to Dgraph and really excited about this product. I wonder if the community has best practice on implementing Dgraph in an iOs App.

1. is a backEnd Server required to act a middleware or can I link directly to Dgraph Cloud from the app?
  2. My app in particular implements Sign In With Apple. How does one implement authorization on the Dgraph?

If your app uses GraphQL. You are ready to go. Just spin up a Dgraph Cloud env and good to go. You just need to use all the Auth goodies in your Schema. It will work like a charm after you design your schema model.

If you wanna use DQL on the other hand. You gonna have to build an API. And there are other extra steps to secure your GraphDB.

Hum, you are probably looking for GraphQL indeed. The Auth feature supports some third-party auth. I’m not 100% aware of this, I gonna ping @amaster507 .

@pbassham built a very small proof of concept for us with Swift. To be clear it was a very basic functionality to see how the sign-in and query process works. I am Windows based and he (pbassham) is iOS based, so that was his baby. We sidelined that while we focus on getting our main web app built first and relaunched.

I don’t think he tried any single sign on, we haven’t really integrated our sign-in process with anything 3rd party yet. We are just managing it all ourselves with a lambda (not hosted in Dgraph Cloud) to serve JWTs from our own Dgraph database. It should be available though. Check out

All you need is a signed JWT containing the user’s information and roles that is needed by your custom GraphQL authorization rules.